Mice don’t actually like cheese

     I’m in the process of enlisting the help of family, friends, and especially coworkers (“especially” as I work full-time and see coworkers more than family or friends) for help with tasting, as I know that not everyone’s taste buds are the same and I need accurate assessments esp. of types of cheese I myself don’t like. (I don’t like smoked cheese, for example, but I know there are other people who do.) I’m in a new job where my coworkers don’t know me well yet, so I’m finding talking about this to them kind of tricky.  For example, one coworker looked downright terrified today when I leaped in front of her desk and said “I NEED YOUR HELP!!!!!!! I KNOW YOU LIKE CHEESE!!!!!! IF I GIVE YOU A PIECE OF CHEESE SOMEDAY AND ASK FOR YOUR OPINION WILL YOU GIVE IT TO ME???????? WILL YOU???????? WILL YOU???????  Cheese is good.” My coworker said yes, but that might have been just because she wanted me to go away.
     I was thinking of joking to my cheese-tasters that I’d call them Casonaut “Mice,” but then I read an article that says that mice don’t actually like cheese: The Debunker: Do Mice Really Like Cheese?  Scott Lydon, Woot, January 27, 2014. Excerpt:
“Mice have evolved almost entirely without cheese or anything resembling it,” explained Dr. Holmes. “Cheese is … therefore not something that they would respond to.” In fact, food with sharp odors, like many cheeses, was found to be a distinct turn-off for mice, what with their keen sense of smell and all.
     “What about rats?” My husband asked when I told him this.  “Do rats like cheese?”
     “I don’t know,” I told him.
     “Or squirrels?”
     “I don’t know.”
     If you are a friend, family member, or coworker of mine in Connecticut and would like to help me sample cheese, please let me know.  If you are not yet one of my personal acquaintances but like cheese, I’m always looking for suggestions–please drop me a line sometime via this blog!
Leave a Reply

